Meet with an attorney

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Underage DUI / Minor in Possession

Cincinnati Lawyers

When you’re young, it can feel like you have your whole life ahead of you. From classes to jobs, internships to volunteer positions, the options seem endless. But after getting cited for an underage DUI, what options do you have?

If you or your child has been cited for an underage DUI it’s essential that you seek help immediately. An underage DUI can be life changing, especially if you don’t have the best possible legal representation.

If you, your son, or your daughter has been cited with an underage DUI, contact our DUI defense attorneys ASAP. The Farrish Law Firm, L.P.A. is here to help families in Cincinnati, Northern Kentucky, and throughout Southwest Ohio.

Don’t know if you should drive? Calculate your BLOOD ALCOHOL LEVEL here.

Helping Your Minor Start Life With a Clean Slate

We understand how scary this time is for you and your family. Whether this is your first offense or you’ve been charged with a crime before, it is confusing. We’ll be there to explain your options honestly. If you have questions, ask them. The Farrish Law Firm, L.P.A. is your resource.

Don’t underestimate the effect this could have on your life if you don’t handle this. Your employment, driving record, and ability to have a driver’s license can all be affected. At The Farrish Law Firm, L.P.A. it is our goal to minimize the impact that a DUI is going to have on your life, and/or win the case outright so that there is no impact on your life.

Understanding the Consequences of an Underage DUI

If you are under the age of 18 the consequences of getting pulled over are going to be much different than someone at or above age 18. At age 17, you are not yet at the recognized age of maturity. Therefore, the consequences might be less severe.

However, this does not mean that the severe consequences of a DUI will be forgone. Ohio has adopted a “zero tolerance” policy towards underage drinking; thus, if you are found with any amount of alcohol in your system you will be cited. It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 or higher if you are under 21. In this case, you will be arrested for an OVUAC (Operating a Vehicle After Under Age Consumption) if your level is less than 0.02 percent but less than 0.08 percent.

The length of suspension for an OVUAC is anywhere from three months to two years. If you are 18 years of age or younger you may complete the juvenile driver improvement program.

The biggest difference between a 17-year-old and a person age 18 years old or older is that they will be punished as adults. Furthermore, along with being charged for driving under the influence, there is potential to be charged with other crimes. If there were other minors in the car you could be charged with distributing alcohol to other minors, along with other charges. Other possible implications include minor in possession, soliciting alcohol, child endangerment law violations, possession of false identification, and moving and vehicle maintenance violations.

What if You’re Underage and Pulled Over?

Make sure you immediately pull over to the right safely and quickly. Be as polite as possible to the police officer. Roll down your window all of the way and keep both hands on the steering wheel. You want to give the officer as little amount to work with as possible. When you’re pulled over at night, officers are typically looking for the common signs of a DUI. Make sure that you don’t speak unless they ask you a question and never give them more information then necessary. If they ask you to take a roadside test, politely decline, and when the officer asks why you’re declining, say on prior advice of counsel, and use our name.

An underage DUI cannot be removed from your record. Make sure you get help immediately. At The Farrish Law Firm, L.P.A. we answer our phones 24/7 (as long as we hear them). If you are taken back to the police station and a chemical test determines that you have a blood alcohol level of a 0.02 you can still be charged for OVUAC and if it’s higher than 0.08 you will be charged for a DUI. This life-changing penalty is not something that you should take lightly.

Underage and Out of State

If you are arrested for a DUI in Northern Kentucky, but live in Ohio, your violation will be forwarded back to Ohio. At The Farrish Law Firm, L.P.A. our DUI defense attorneys, like Robert W. Dziech II, are certified in both Kentucky and Ohio. The only state that can suspend your license is the state that gave you your license; therefore, if your DUI occurred out of state, you are looking at a six-month suspension in Ohio or until the out-of-state suspension is gone. If you have questions about your out-of-state underage DUI, be sure to contact our DUI defense attorneys to learn about your options.

Minor Alcohol Consumption in Your Home

As DUI defense attorneys, we also think it worthwhile to mention that parents who allow minors to consume alcohol in their homes may be subject to misdemeanor charges if one of those minors is later charged with DUI/OVI. If you are going to drink with your child, it is important to do so when they will not be able to operate a vehicle. Never let another underage person drink in your home.

Contact Us Today

An underage DUI charge can be an incredibly difficult and stressful experience for not only the charged, but with all parties involved. As a parent, you want to see your child succeed; you don’t want to see one mistake impact the rest of their life. You want the best for your child and at The Farrish Law Firm, L.P.A. we have a reputation for being respected DUI/OVI defense attorneys in the Cincinnati area.

You’re life cannot wait; that’s why we answer our phones 24 hours a day and we’re willing to help you make the best of your circumstances. Our goal is to minimize the impact that this charge will have on your life and when possible win the case outright so that there is no impact on your life.

Contact the Farrish Law Firm, L.P.A. today.